Oye... let's get all caught up with my life so far:
A couple months ago, coworker #2 asked if I wanted to move in with her when her lease was up in July- she wanted to move closer to work, and her old rommie was moving out. I said, "Sure." and then didn't really think too much about it after that, because it was "months away"... I had been wanting to move out for a long time and actually, my goal was to get into an apartment before my 25th birthday at the end of this month, so I knew it was coming soon, I just didn't realize how soon.
Three weeks ago, my coworker/roommate (or Croomie- if you will) saw an ad for an apartment that she liked, and two days later we were filling out lease applications. The following week we were told that the apartment was ours and then the next day, we were picking up the keys.
Now, I know that this is exciting news and something that I probably should have blogged about right away. However, my boyfriend and I have a big hike planned for the end of the month that we have been trying to get ready for, and most of my spare time has been spent moving my stuff in to the new apartment (which I am still working on). So, the new news is that Pluck will be on her own very soon... if I can ever finish getting my crap moved.
The old news is that my boss is still a raving lunatic. The week that Croomie and I signed the lease, biz-natch (that's slang for the "B" word) flipped out on me over some AutoCAD drawings. Now, I thought that I had understood what it was she was asking me to do, but figured that the drawings would still need some adjustments which, is why I was showing them to her and asking if they were okay.
And, apparently they weren't.
And evidently, I am also an idiot, because she thought she had, "MADE IT CLEAR!!!!!", what it was that she wanted. So when I tried to clarify things again, she started in with the insults, "I thought that was the obvious way to do it but I guess it's not! I mean why wouldn't you get that?!" It was like her words were sharp blades being flung at me, and with every one, I was cut down. Smaller and smaller. She ended her rant with, "DO YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT I WANT?!"
This attitude she had towards me continued for the next couple days, and when I showed up to work on Friday, I was completely drained. I had a hard time waking up, and my stomach was aching. I came in a couple minutes late and when I told coworker #1 that I wasn't feeling well, her response was, "Well, you probably just want this to stop. I mean this thing with the boss has been going on for a few days now and I bet you are just tired of it, and want it to end."
Stop the train, and let me off.
I am not crazy.
"So, you see it too?! She does treat me like crap?" We talked for a few minutes about how neither of us knew why the boss was acting psycho towards me. Which didn't get me far, but coworker #1 said that it wouldn't be a good idea for me to talk to her about it (like my boyfriend has suggested in the past). She had seen an old employee approach my boss for a 'conversation' and according to coworker #1, it did NOT go so well.
Luckily, Friday was Friday and then the weekend came- but good Lord, last week sucked too!
I was working on closing out a contract that I had written up for a client, when I spotted a mistake. My stomach hit the ground and I started to sweat instantly. I had looked over that contract twenty times (probably literally, twenty times, because I am paranoid that I will screw up and piss off Vampira) and I still missed something. I showed coworker #1 and we tried to see how we could solve the problem... but it wasn't going to happen. I had mistakenly given our client the net cost of an item, and now my boss was going to make $700 less on the contract.
I emailed my Mom, "I might lose my job today. I'll keep you posted".
When the boss came in, I took a deep breath, and told her what I had discovered. She, of course, was not happy and made it very clear how angry she was. I apologized a number of times, but she didn't really speak to me for the rest of the day, but she also didn't fire me. I decided that I would send her an email after work, just to make sure she knew that I was sorry and that I understood how serious the mistake was... I also added in that I would accept all repercussions. I thought this sentence would open the door for her to fire me because, I was pretty confused about why she hadn't done it already.
As I told my boyfriend later that night; I sit right next to this woman. I have been on her shit list many times before, and it is uncomfortable. I can feel her anger, and it makes me more stressed and tense at work than I usually am. If she wants to fire me, then I want her to fire me. I figured that maybe she didn't feel right doing it in front of my coworkers, or that she was trying to decide if that was the right punishment.... but why prolong the pain?
I still had a job the next day, and the day after that as well... and though she didn't fire me, or allude to wanting to fire me, she definitely made me wonder. The rest of the week, we exchanged few words, and she would tell coworker #1 to, "have Pluck do this" or ask Croomie to "tell Pluck to email that"... even though each time, I was sitting right there. She was also having me send things to my coworkers, so that they could complete the projects. Sort of like, taking work away from me... I have nothing to do when I go to work tomorrow and part of me thinks that might be her plan.
I know that I need a new job, and I have needed one for awhile... Before, this job sucked, and my boss was mean and I wasn't getting any respect- but I was sticking it out so I could finish my portfolio. Now, this job is hell, my boss treats me like a child and it's hard to walk in there everyday- but I have rent to pay, and can't afford to lose the income. My portfolio is nearly complete, just a few more tweaks, and it will be good to go. I am so busy right now, with all the stuff going on in my life, but I have GOT to make time to look for a new job this week.
I can't go in there everyday and get treated the way I do. It's beyond annoying now. It's actually ruining my health- I am constantly nervous and antsy, even when I'm at home. Right now, I am thinking about ways I can get out of work tomorrow, just so I don't have to deal with the crap.
I am also thinking about stuff I can pack in my car to bring to the apartment in the morning, and how I have to take the car to the body shop tomorrow (and get a rental) because it went all transformer on me again, and was hit by yet another car. I've got dinner with boyfriend and his parents on Tuesday, I have a chair that needs to be recovered this week so I can take it to the apartment, and I still don't know when I will get to sleep there for the first time... Croomie is already moved in, and I am starting to get anxious about getting all my stuff in there. Boyfriend and I are climbing Mt. Whitney on my birthday and my hiking shoes still aren't broken it, plus, I am starting to catch a cold with all this stress and ...I JUST WANT THE ROOM TO STOP SPINNING SO I CAN GO TO BED!
No comments:
Post a Comment