Remember my 4-8 hrs of volunteer work for the animal rescue? Ya, it's more like 12hrs. I leave my house at 8:30am and I don't get back until after 9pm. Completely exhausted and covered in horse poo. Like I literally come home with horse poo-flakes in my hair and down my shirt (itchy) because I haven't quite learned the shit throwing techniques. You got to get the poo into the wheel barrow by chucking it with the rake.... I kinda chuck it against the wind and it flies back at me. So my Saturdays are not mine anymore. I've totally given them up. But you know what?
I don't care.
I freaking love the place and I look forward to it every week, and I miss it when I'm gone... even the poo. The people there are awesome, the animals are great and I just really like feeling appreciated. I get hugs and thank you's. Which should be a normal thing, but unfortunately for me, it's like a breath of fresh air since every other day of the week, I'm usually floating somewhere in between being completely ignored and getting my head bitten off for some teeny mistake.
Whenever that happens, I just think of those sweet animals and how happy they make me... it works for about two seconds then I'm back to being hurt. Just this past week I think there were two times where my brain was screaming from inside my skull, "I HATE THIS STUPID PLACE!!" After the second time, I wrote my Mom an email and told her that I would have my portfolio done by Mother's day because I don't think I can stand to be working for this place much longer... (honestly, I do want to start looking for a new job in May). I am getting better though, after a few hours I'm not upset about it anymore, but I definitely want to try hard to get my portfolio done by Mother's day.
I mean I said it to my Mom for the love.... I kinda have to get it done now.
I'm realizing that this blog post really isn't too exciting today... sooo, here's a picture of a horse:
Seriously though, this is Morgan and I love her. She is a rescue. Her previous owner would pull her down by her mane, tie her up with ropes staked to the ground just to trim her hooves. When she got to the ranch, she would literally throw herself up against the side of her stall to get as far away as possible from whoever was walking by on the other side... She is a million times better now though. She lets people pet her, if she gets to know you (the ranch hand says that she loves me because she lets me pet her almost all over her body... little skittish about the back) and she doesn't run away from anyone. We still can't groom her though- she's a little freaky about that.
I keep telling her that I will brush her someday.
But, I also keep telling myself that I will get my stupid portfolio done someday... maybe if I worked on it for 12hrs straight, I could- oh! What am I doing next Sunday? This might be a possibility... and I could blog updates as I go. I'm suddenly very excited... alright just plugged it into my blackberry- Portfolio-fest Sunday May 2nd.
crap.