Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Hooray for today

Today was a good day.... well, for me at least. Not so much for my co worker who left early because she is having surgery tomorrow that will put her out for at least a few weeks, if not more. But for me, it was good because while she is out, I get her desk.

Yeah, that's right! I get a desk.... I also get a phone (Uh? gasp!). I can make a phone call without hunching over my co worker's desk like I'm a stranger calling a cab. You know what else comes with the desk? A printer! Now, if I want to print something, I don't have to send it in an email to said coworker, then wait fifteen minutes until she decides she wants to print it. I will have more space on the desk. People will be able to see me without looking around a big pile of__ that my boss left on the table for me to take care of... Needless to say, while my coworker was nervous for her surgery, I was anxious. Anxious to get my butt out of the wicker lounge chair, and into a real desk chair. Where I can sit and watch the wicker chair collect dust.


It's almost like I am an actual employee.


Maybe now my boss will see how hard I work. As long as I can stay focused, my work should be coming to her twice as fast now that I can print things myself. More will be getting done too. I have to take over all that my coworker was "working on"... meaning all the things that she was supposed to work on. Like this huge schedule for this enormous house! She was supposedly putting it all together for the last week. When she showed me today though, she had done nothing to it. So I am taking it over, and I will do it right and I will do it in a timely manner.... and I will make sure my boss knows that I did it all.

Then I'm putting that sucker in my portfolio.


Speaking of which... I've been rendering:

Thursday, January 7, 2010

And I will call them my, "I don't need to own a salon, I've got great boots!" boots.

I just got my hair cut tonight by an old friend of mine. She's been a stylist since the day she graduated high school, and has just realized a life-long dream of hers. She has just opened her first salon! She worked hard to get to where she is, and I am really happy for her. She deserves to be the proud owner of the 3 Graces Salon...
-thoughtful pause-
Alright, so now that that's been said, I can vent about the situation. She is a great friend, always interested in my life and always asking me what I've been up to and how I'm doing.... but she's always asking me what I've been up to! That is the hardest question for me to answer. I can't say that I've really been up to much at all... I mean I certainly haven't opened up my own salon! I wish I could just start my own interior design business, but I have no clients and I have no idea where to get them. It's sort of the 'chicken or the egg' scenario... and until I get that figured out, I'm just working. So, while I am in the midst of trying to make my current situation sound more interesting than it is, she looks down at my feet and says, "Those boots are adorable! Where did you get them?!"... really?
Okay, so this friend was always my personal fashion icon. Seriously. The latest and greatest clothing? She had it, and she rocked it. She always looks perfect, and more than once I have gone out to buy something that I just saw her in (three times, that I can remember off the top of my head: a graphic t-shirt, Steve Maddens, and a Jersey dress). When she commented on how cute she thought my boots were, it made me feel incredible! Suddenly my mood totally improved, and the conversation switched to shopping and clothes... which is something that I don't feel like I suck at. I walked out of that salon thinking, "Who cares if I'm 24 and still live at home because I can't afford rent? So what, if I claim my car is a Transformer to explain all the dents? Who cares if I've been stuck in the same crappy job, with no movement or opportunities for progress? (Okay, well I kinda care about that last one, but anyway....) I've got great boots!" Thanks, Friend. Thanks!
And....if it wasn't for that little turn around at the end there, I would have come home and sulked and would have completely forgotten that I have some big news for my blog: My sign went up! You remember, the one I posted a picture of, that I drew up for the restaurant in town?... It's not my design and I really can't take any credit at all, BUT it's going in my portfolio anyway. Because if I hadn't drawn it up, the client wouldn't have gotten the visual and the city would have had a tougher time approving it. The city approved the sign based on my drawing, and the sign was built based on my drawing too! So there, great boots... and a sign.


P.S. Pictures to come. I've got to get my butt out of bed early enough so that I have time to stop by and snap one before work tomorrow. If I can remember to do so in my early-morning-grump state.