Thursday, December 31, 2009

Hey, 2010... Welcome!

Did I accomplish everything I wanted to this year? Well, no. Not really. I'm not much further ahead than I was when 2009 came drunk and staggering in. Or was that me? Anyway, I've got a lot of catching up to do with 2010, so I've made some resolutions. And they've been laminated. Now before I go over what I will do, let me first say this; I know that I promised to get a lot of work done on my portfolio over this holiday break, but I haven't. There were other year-end things that needed to be taken care of first. Now with that being said, right after I post this I am going to sit in front of this floor plan (pictured here, let's call this the before shot) with markers and pencils in hand, ready to apply some color.


The Resolutions:

-I WILL have my portfolio finished well before my next birthday (which is at the end of July). So basically, I need to get with it...

-Read: Pride and Prejudice, The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy (Which I've already started) and Sense and Sensibility. (Don't question the book list)

-Clean weekly

-Make more time for friends

-No more careless mistakes at work


The first resolution is obviously the most important, and my whole reason for creating this blog. I thought it would help me to stay on top of things if I posting about my progress on the portfolio and in working towards getting a new job (and everything else in between apparently). So my New Year Blog Resolution is to post more often, and to show my progress. Obviously I will continue to post completed pages of the portfolio but there are a lot of things I need to do before I get to that stage again. Meaning that there will be more pictures like the one posted here (exciting huh?) just to show my steps along the way.

Like promised: Here I go on the rendering... let's wrangle in this new year.

Thursday, December 17, 2009

Bullets and Eye-daggers

So I have this theory about my car. It helps me cope with the fact that my car has been a punching bag for invisible strangers lately. I think it's a pretty good theory actually.

It all started when I got rear-ended a few months ago: When the repairs were being made, they found a bullet in my trunk! Ignore the fact that I bought the car from a police officer (also ignore the fact that I thought they meant a "Magic Bullet" and was excited that someone left a sweet blender in my trunk) I had been in and out of that trunk so many times and had never seen this bullet before. It's like it came out of nowhere.
Then, just a couple weeks ago, I had some more car issues, and had to get a new fuel pump. Guess what? They found two more bullets... whaaa?? Ya..

Then, just last week, I notice a huge scratch on my brand new bumper, which pissed me off... aaand only days later I find a gargantuan dent in the front of my poor car... what the hell, man! No notes were ever left, I never saw or heard anything. I mean who has luck like that?! My car is being thrashed in a matter of months. So I started having this little pity party for myself, wondering why people were beating up on my Pony, when suddenly it hit me: My car is an evil-alien-butt-kicking-machine...

It's a Transformer!

That's really the only explanation. I mean the car that rear-ended me was probably an evil car. Like a suicide rear-end-er, or something. Only my car is so strong that it survived, and the other car was totalled. Sucker. I bet my car's name is Stang... and he is a bad-ass too. All strong and like... angry and stuff. And it comes to life at night to protect the Earth, getting all banged up and scratched up in the process, shooting bullets and running around wearing out its fuel pump.....

Or at least that's what I like to think. Especially when the alternative is, "My car is old and could die at any minute, and there is no way I could afford to buy a new one."... I can hardly afford Christmas gifts. Plus, my physical therapy bills from the whiplash are starting to come in... (damn suicide rear-end-er). Oh, and tomorrow I am getting my wisdom tooth pulled. Not that it's a huge expense- but it is a dollar sign that would look a whole hell of a lot better in my bank account. Woe to me.

But enough whining, here is the good news: I made some more progress on my portfolio this week. It's just some spec sheets (technical junk) from an old project, but it needed to be done. The next step is to render this big floor plan from the same project (it's the one I re-did). It will take a while because it's a slow process, but with the holidays coming up, I should have plenty of time. Once that's done I can get back into photoshop and arrange some more pages.

I'm not saving the world or anything (that's my car's job) I'm just taking it step by step.... and in the mean-time, I am learning that throwing eye-daggers at my boss' back makes me feel better when I've had a long day.